The site of The Farmers' Museum has deep roots in New York State's
rural past. The land has been part of a working farm since 1813, when it was owned by James Fenimore Cooper. Judge Samuel
Nelson, whose office is part of The Farmers' Museum Village, bought the farm in 1829 and raised sheep there. Fenimore Farm,
as it came to be known, changed hands again in the 1870s, when it was acquired by the Clark family.
Explore America's industrial past. Situated in the northern Catskills,
Hanford Mills Museum is a working saw and grist mill powered by a Fitz overshot waterwheel. The Museum also features tours
of the John Hanford Farmstead and a gasoline powered engine and dynamo.